home >  categories >  djs >  occasional sounds entertainment >  reviews

Occasional Sounds Entertainment

Services:

DJs

Passionate and Professional Entertainment for YOUR Special Day.
Phone: 732-597-2799 
11 Winchester Drive, Toms River, NJ 08753
 
Overall Rating
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.9/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
 
66 Total Reviews
 
Carrie
Wedding: 6/21/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jay and his team were amazing! Not only did they provide an awesome playlist of music, but they really understood the type of reception we were going for and even helped us to plan the entire evenings timeline. Jay put my wedding planning stress at ease and we definitely would hire him again!
Ashley
Wedding: 5/30/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I want to say a special thank you to Jay and his team at OSD for providing entertainment and DJ services for our wedding day!!! Jay was absolutely amazing to work with and super personable and professional. He was recommended by a friend who recieved so many compliments about OSD and when I reached out to Jay, he was very quick to respond and we sceduled a consultation right away. I knew from the minute I sat down with Jay that he was going to be the perfect DJ for our needs. He was awesome every step of the way, answering all my questions (I had a lot!!!) and even providing expert advice regarding the music and logistics for he wedding day because of his experience. The online event planning system that he has is amazing! It made picking out songs so easy and it is every brides best fiend! On our wedding day, Jay and his team did a spectacular job. There was never a dull moment and our guests were always on the dancefloor and having a great time. They played the songs that I requested and kept the party rocking all night long! All of our guests raved about the DJ and said how great they were. I would highly recommend OSD for any occassion. Thanks Jay and your team! You made our wedding day!!
Brian
Wedding: 5/17/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
My wife and I selected Jay and Occasional Sounds for our wedding and could not be happier. When we met with Jay initially he was very helpful and provided a lot of great ideas for the wedding that we had not even thought of. For instance, initially we did not want to have the garter placement because we didn't want it to be awkward, but Jay suggested having whoever caught the garter put in on the groom which was absolutely hilarious and the crowd went nuts and loved it. Additionally, he suggested having one of his employees sing Frank Sinatra during dinner. He was amazing. He sounded just like him and of course the woman at the wedding became all red in the face. Haha. We gave Jay a general guideline on what music we wanted him to play but just let him run with it since he has the experience of DJ’ing weddings and he delivered. He play classic songs for the older crowd, seamlessly transition to some country for our friends from Wyoming and finished the night off with some awesome dance/EDM music. We were all a sweaty mess and could not walk the next day we were so sore from dancing. I would definitely recommend Jay for any event. He was reasonably priced and doesn't nickel and dime you. He definitely exceeded our expectations of what we wanted.
Megan
Wedding: 4/26/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Phenomenal! I could not have asked for a better DJ. From the website they send you to prep for the wedding, to the final details phone call, to the actual event, they were PERFECT! All of our guests had a great time and the dance floor was NEVER EMPTY! They kept the energy alive and truly made this a special day for us! Out of all of the DJs in the area I honestly feel that they are the most caring and will make sure your special day is absolutely the best!
Andrew and Anthony
Wedding: 10/25/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jay and his crew provided my partner and I an amazing night. Jay met with us and prepared a fantastic evening for us and our guests. As a same sex couple we were very cautious in selecting vendors for our wedding to ensure we were not made to feel uncomfortable. From our initial contact with Jay to the end of our night occasional sounds treated us like royalty!!!! To any same sex couples planning their wedding-contact occasional sounds! They will not disappoint! -Andrew and Anthony
Susan
Wedding: 10/19/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Bob and I are so happy we picked Jay, Chris, and Occasional Sounds Entertainment to be our DJ's for our recent wedding. Jay was so helpful throughout the entire process. He was professional, yet fun. He interacted with all of our guests and was a big hit. The dance floor was full all night!! I also liked how they catered to all of our guests, as we had quite a range in ages. Knowing this, Chris offered to sing some Frank Sinatra songs which we knew would appeal to our older guests. If you didn't know any better, you would have thought Frank himself had stopped at our wedding. What a wonderful voice. He was even kind enough to allow a guest to join him. We would not hesitate to use Jay and Chris again. Thanks for making our wedding a blast and a day we will always remember!
Heather and Doug
Wedding: 10/13/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jay was AWESOME! So happy we made the decision to have a DJ and even happier we decided to use Jay! He is professional, knowledgeable and most of all FUN! He knows just how to play the right music at the right time! Not only did the kids dance all night most if the adults did too! Can't wait to see Jay again at my nieces wedding!!!! We will definitely recommend Jay to anyone looking for a DJ and look forward to using his services in the future!
Teresa
Wedding: 9/29/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Occasional sound entertainment are great dj's. they did my wedding and it was everything that I wanted. Jay is a great entertainer and his team behind him were professional and accommodating. Book occasional sound entertainment for your next event. You won't be disappointed.
Kristi
Wedding: 9/14/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We are so happy that we usd Occasional Sounds for our DJ the ay of our wedding. Jay was so wonderful to work with up to the wedding; he was always very quick to respond to emails and phone calls. Chris was our other DJ and sang our first dance. He also sang a few songs during dinner. Everyone was so shocked when they realized that it wasn't Frank Sinatra singing our song but it was Chris! There were more requests during dinner; everyone loved listening and dancing while he sang. So many people pulled us aside and told us how much they loved our DJ. Jay was awesome at getting people on the dance floor and coordinating with the other vendors to help everthing run smoothly. He played awesome songs and kept the party going all night!
Kristin
Wedding: 9/1/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jay and Occasional Sounds Entertainment provided exceptional DJ services for our wedding. From the time we booked until the end of our wedding day Jay and his staff were extremely professional and carried out everything we wanted. All of our special requests were carried out and all details were covered. Also, most importantly, the dance floor was PACKED the entire night! We also booked the photo booth. It is sleek, modern, and everyone had a blast using it! Along with the photo booth we had the scrap booking station, which involved our guests and provided great memories for us to take away with. Another must-do is to have Chris sing during dinner. He is AMAZING and sounds like he should be apart of the Rat Pack. People could not believe that it was actually him singing live and not a Frank Sinatra recording. Bottom line...OSE provided great service and entertainment and they helped to make our dream wedding complete. By the end of the night we received so many compliments from our guests about the evening's entertainment. So if you do not book OSE for your next event you will definitely regret it! Thanks OSE!
Jess
Wedding: 6/29/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jay brings professionalism, fun, and a keen attentiveness to his audience in his DJ service. He kept us on the dance floor all night! Thanks OSE!
Joanne
Wedding: 6/20/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We used Jay/Occasional Sounds Entertainment for both of my daughters 8th grade graduation parties which was held at Latitudes on the River. Jay has always been extremely professional, punctual and approachable from day one, he would spend forever listening to what we wanted and expected. He is never pushy and is always honest about what he feels will work best with our group/theme. Don't even think twice about hiring them for ANY event. We especially loved the private client log in on his website which allowed my daughters to pick and chose what songs, dances etc. they wanted played and what to absolutely avoid. Jay surprised my dad who turned 75 at our recent party, he celebrated my dad in such a fun yet classy way, having us all out to do the "twist' dad's favorite dance, truly a special family moment we will never forget. Can't wait to have another party and need a DJ!
Machele
Wedding: 6/15/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I hired Jay and Dom from OSE to DJ my son’s wedding on June 15,2013 because we have worked together before and there is no one that I would rather have entertain at my son’s wedding than them. Always professional, always fun! We had many guests from out of state and they were all on the dance floor. Jay took care of all the music and handled all of our special requests. Do not hesitate in hiring Jay and Dom from Occasional Sounds, you will not be disappointed. Machele Gederberg
Private User
Wedding: 5/26/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Jay & Chris did an amazing job! Jay was great with music choices and keeping our guests on the dance floor. We were in awe of Chris. He sang Frank Sinatra & Dean Martin during dinner. We couldn't have been more Lucky/Happy with our DJ choice. Occasional Sounds Entertainment is unbelievable and you can't go wrong by choosing them for your event! :-)
Laura
Wedding: 4/13/13
3.1 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
2.5/5.0
Responsiveness:
2.5/5.0
Professionalism:
2.5/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.0/5.0
Flexibility:
4.0/5.0
I waited awhile to write this review because I usually don't like to say anything negative about anyone. I wrote the owner of Occasional Sounds an email with my issues before writing this - I didn't receive a response. Jay, the owner, was very helpful when booking our photo booth (our wedding favor) and design of our logo. But there were many issues with the employees at my wedding. 1.) First, two people were scheduled to work the photo booth - four people showed up. It seemed to be that two of the people were friends (not employees), who showed up to keep their friend company and enjoy the vendor food. I say this because when my husband and I went in to take photos at the booth, three of the employees were just sitting around talking. When I told one of them that the social media/facebook part of the photo booth wasn't working, he said he would fix it. I did not get fixed. 2.) A scrapbook was included in our contract. I brought my own (to match our color scheme) and I added about 50 pages of nice sturdy paper inside. I got back a book with 18 pages (and most with the flimsy paper I had originally replaced). 3.) We were supposed to receive a flash drive of our photos and video. We were sent a lot of email links to download photos after the wedding. I didn't immediately download anything because I had thought we were receiving a physical flash drive per the contact. When I didn't receive anything, I emailed Jay. He told me we had to download the photo links to get the photos and video. Then there was a whole issue with time passing and the photos having to be uploaded again on his end. This wouldn't have been an issue if we had just received the flash drive. Now all the photos are on my computer when I really wanted them saved on an external drive. Our guests enjoyed the photo booth. But I wanted to make brides-to-be aware of the issues we had at/after the wedding.
Occasional Sounds Entertainment says:
Hi Laura, Thank you for your feedback, this is a great way to improve our business and is very appreciated. I would like to respond to your review. First let me say that none of those employees are still with OSE, I was unaware that they were bringing friends/girlfriends to help out. I had a client inform of this about a year ago and along with a couple other issues I had with them I had to let them go. I agree with you 100% about this, one of the reasons I only work one event at a time is just this, it is hard to overlook what is happening when you are not there. Since then I have hired 2 new employees that are loyal, reliable and very professional. As far as the scrapbook, the same employee is no longer with us. I apologize for this. However, if you are also unhappy about the number of pages, we can only tell guests to fill out the scrapbook. Finally....after booking with you I had started using the wetransfer system to send clients their images and videos and it seems to work well for most, a couple clients had issues downloading them so I did send them flash drives. Finally, I have been a DJ for almost 20 years and as you can see, the reviews are great ( several have the booth included in the review ). The photo booth piece is only 2 years old and it takes time to work out the kinks. If there is anything I can do to rectify this please let me know. Sincerely, Jay
dana
Wedding: 4/6/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I wanted to say thank you to Jay and his staff for going above and beyond our expectations at our wedding. Jay was so easy to work with and helpful in the planning of our reception. Chris singing during dinner was AMAZING! Everyone had a great time and are still talking about how much fun they had. I highly recommend Jay and OSE for any event! Thank you Jay!
Ellie
Wedding: 3/23/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We used Jay for our daughter's bar mitzvah. While starting our planning for this event I started my search for dj's online. After extensive research I ran across Occasional Sounds Entertainment. I really got a good feeling from the website and decided to give them a call to check dates and prices. My instincts were confirmed after speaking to Jay and after booking him throughout the planning process. He blew us away at the event itself! He did a great job picking out the music, organizing the special moments of the day and generally making the event the happiest ever! The only problem we had around our event was an issue with our photographer at the last minute. I was desperate thinking we would not have pictures of the day, I called Jay hoping he could somehow give us advice. Not only did he get us a new photographer but also a videographer. Need I say his team did a fabulous job there too! Finally if all this was not enough we also got the photo booth for the party and this really was a hit! The girls attending we're so sweet and my daughter loves the scrapbook of all the party guest being silly! After all the planning and prepping the day went on without a hitch! I am so appreciative of Jay since he and his company were a big part of the success! Now I want to have a party to hire OCS just to enjoy them again. Lots of love to y'all Jay! We thank you and your team bunches for everything!! Bruce and Ellie Weiner
Brian
Wedding: 1/5/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We hired Jason and his crew for our wedding based on the nice reviews I saw on Wedding Wire. It turned out that by the end of the night - everyone was exhausted from all the dancing and fun.... Stop searching for a DJ that may or may not perform better than agreed - Because Jason and his crew - GO WAY BEYOND! I strongly urge you to hire Jay - he is exceptionally professional and refreshingly entertaining to watch. You never know what is going to happen next that will make you just - CRACK UP! Hire Jay and Occasional Sounds - You will thank me - and your guests will thank you....! XO! Brian and Christina
Jill
Wedding: 12/16/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Recently got married December 16th 2012, and we had Occasional Sounds DJ our event. Jay and Dom provided quality and reliable service. They were very professional and really ROCKED the house!! Thank you Occasional Sounds Entertainment for making my day special and amazing! ~Jill Marie
Danielle
Wedding: 12/15/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Thank you to Jay and the Occasional Sound Team for making my day unforgetable. Your DJ services were flawless you kept everyone on the dance floor all night. My friends and family can not stop talking about your amazing entertainment. We also absolutley loved the photo booth. We used our photo strips as favors for our guests. It was a nice momento for our guests to take home. The scrapbook station was so unique, none of us have seen anything like it. The finished scrapbook that we took home was so elegant and beautiful. You and your team were so professional, helpful, and talented. We will use your services again and recommend you to everyone we know. Thank you again for providing the best entertainment we can ever ask for. Sincerely, Danielle :)
 
 
Find Occasional Sounds Entertainment reviews from newlyweds in South Jersey that used Occasional Sounds Entertainment for wedding DJs services.