home >  categories >  cakes >  the cake studio of ocean city >  reviews

The Cake Studio of Ocean City

Services:

Cakes

For fun. For quality. For taste.
Phone: 609-231-1851 
1046 Asbury Ave Unit A, Ocean City, NJ 08226
 
Overall Rating
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.9/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
 
31 Total Reviews
 
amanda
Wedding: 10/12/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I got both a wedding cake and a groom's cake from The Cake Studio of Ocean City and they were both amazing! At the tasting, my finace, my father and I all agreed that Darren's cakes were some of the best we've ever tasted. We ended up getting a simple buttercream cake with sugar flowers, with 3 flavors, the chocolate guiness cake, chocolate almond cake with espresso buttercream, and the Elvis cake with banana slices and peanut butter. For the groom's cake, we got an apple spice cake in the shape of a kettle grill. Both of the cakes were beautiful and incredible delicious
Samantha
Wedding: 5/25/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Darren is an amazingly creative, talented baker! He made our wedding cake and it was absolutely perfect, his sugar flowers are SO gorgeous, and the cake is delicious. He is also extremely nice and accommodating, very open to changes in the designs as well. His talent also reaches into unusual cakes, as he made a Pittsburgh Penguin (Petey) cake for my husband as his grooms cake, and it was the most adorable thing ever! Additionally, he doesn't believe in freezing the top layer of cake for the 1 year anniversary, and will make you a FRESH cake for it one year after your wedding!
Lisa
Wedding: 2/15/14
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
In My opinion, Darren is the one and only true Cake Boss!!!! He is a cake genius!!! I was blown away by the cake he made for our wedding even though I know the quality and cakes he makes. He is amazing and his cakes are more than delicious. He is the BEST!!!!
Kelsey
Wedding: 10/12/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
My fiancé and I had the pleasure of working with Darren from the cake studio when planning our wedding cake. Darren is a true artist and one amazing baker! Matt and I loved the unique flavors that Darren had available ( I think there were over 20 to choose from). We decided on a key lime cake and it was amazing! Darren was able to listen to what I wanted for a design and sketch it right on the spot. Each cake that he makes has a one of a kind design! We loved working with Darren and would recommend him to any couple planning their wedding!
Private User
Wedding: 8/24/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Darren was such a pleasure to work with, every step of the way! There was such a great selection of flavors to choose from and we were able to sample four delicious flavors during our tasting. Our cake came out beautifully and the details were stunning. It was clear that a great deal of thought and effort went into making the cake perfect!
Maura
Wedding: 6/21/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Amazing cake!!! Almost too pretty to cut!
Alexandra
Wedding: 6/8/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We opeted for a single tier cake and his and hers cupcakes with our own flavor suggestions. Darren was great and the sweets absolutely delicious!Our guests are still raving about the Guinnes chocolate cupcake with caramel filling and whiskey frosting!
Meghan
Wedding: 6/1/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
My cake was UNBELIEVABLE!! They did such an amazing job and the cake was absolutely delicious. I was so so happy!!
Natasha
Wedding: 5/31/13
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.5/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Darren is by far THE BEST baker and decorator in South Jersey. My father, brother and I went in for a tasting with Darren and were absolutely blown away by the flavor and quality of his cakes compared to other bakeries we tried in the area. The minute we walked out, I knew Darren's skills would give me a wedding cake that far exceeded the blandness I was used to as a wedding guest. Darren was easy to communicate with via email or phone through the entire process, although sometimes a little delayed, which I did not mind. I gave Darren inspiration photos and he drew up something unique, yet definitely within the theme I provided. The result on my wedding day was exactly as he had sketched and using all the details and colors we had discussed. Most impressive were his very detailed, realistic sugar flowers - they were stunning! And of course, the cake tasted exactly like it did during the tasting; we chose the Summer and Key Lime Pie flavors - both are amazing! I highly recommend Darren for both his artistry and culinary expertise. I would not even consider another baker in the area, no matter how much cheaper they are. Darren is truly a master of his craft and as they say, you get what you pay for, but he is completely affordable and I love that he includes an anniversary cake - I'm already looking forward to it!!!
Joy
Wedding: 5/20/13
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Darren is truly a creator, an artist and dreamweaver for all things cake! I had the crazy task of trying to plan my wedding from 1600 miles from where it would be, but Darren didn't even flinch at this. He worked with me through soo many emails, phone calls and sketches. The best part is, he really let me be creative with our cake, and create something totally unique to us. He said never said no, or what in the world are you thinking. In fact, I think he liked the challenge. He made us the most beautiful cake with some really amazingly creative touches that reflected us as a couple 200%. Add to that the fact that guests were raving all night about how delicious the cake was, and we were happily caught eating leftovers for breakfast the next morning! The cake was part of a wedding that was truly a dream come true. Darren is amazing!! :)
Amanda
Wedding: 9/21/12
4.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
4.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.0/5.0
Professionalism:
4.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
4.0/5.0
Flexibility:
4.0/5.0
Thank you, Cake Studio, for a beautiful and delicious wedding cake!
Giselle
Wedding: 9/15/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Cake Studio makes amazing cakes! Darren could not have been easier to work with and we could not have been more pleased with our wedding cake. He has fantastic and unique flavor combinations that were absolutely delicious. Darren designed our cake based on my dress and flowers and was meticulous with his attention to detail. We received so many compliments on our cake. Cake Studio is a must if you want to “wow” your guests.
Katie
Wedding: 6/15/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
We LOVED Darren! Our cake was beautiful and exactly what we wanted. Since we live across the country Darin sent us sketches of what he thought we wanted and would change his sketch to fit our needs. He ended up creating a four layer cake with huge sugar peonies on top (absolutely gorgeous) and the monogram from our invitation on the front. When we went in for a tasting, we couldn't decide on the cake because each was AMAZING. THIS IS SERIOUSLY THE BEST CAKE YOU WILL HAVE IN YOUR ENTIRE LIFE. No joke. Darren was also nice enough to have cake ready to taste for my parents and my brother who went with us to the tasting. All of our guests talked about how amazing the cake was all night long. The only downside is all of our guests ate the chocolate cake, which were the smaller layers, and we didn't get to take any home! One guest told us after that she loved the cake so much that she had FIVE pieces!! And she is a tiny girl! Because we live across the country, Darren said he didn't want us freezing our cake and would make us a new top tier for our one year anniversary. So excited that we get to have it again!! Thank you Darren!!
Tara
Wedding: 6/9/12
4.9 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.5/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Darren's work was amazing! I couldn't believe my eyes when we arrived at our wedding, the cake was exactly what I had envisioned! And the flavors were unbelievable, alternating layers of pistachio(with fresh raspberries) and toffee fudge! My family was eating the left over cake for days after the wedding!! It was truly delicious! Can't wait for our anniversary cake!!! :)
Nicole
Wedding: 5/27/12
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
I loved our wedding cake!!! The flavors were almost impossible to choose between because all of the cakes at the tasting were amazing. The design was sketched by Darren (owner) and fit our personalities and the theme of the wedding perfectly. I could not have been any happier with the cake - it was even better than I could have pictured, and it was unique - I have never seen another wedding cake that amazing!!
Annemarie
Wedding: 11/26/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
BEST wedding cake ever! We are so happy we found you! Darren your creativity is amazing and was obvious in our cake design. We wanted a cake that looked and tasted amazing and we got that. The cake was moist and flavorful. When we walked into the room for the first time and saw the cake - I screamed from across the room. We were so sad you weren't there to see the expression in our face and for us to thank you in person. We will be back for cakes needed in the future!! Sincerely, Annemarie & Jimmy November 26...
Elena
Wedding: 11/5/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Darren was fantastic to work with -- his cake design and execution were perfect, and the cake was DELICIOUS! He was incredibly flexible and generous, and even made us a birthday cake for some of our bridal party whose birthdays fell on our wedding weekend. We couldn't have been happier and definitely recommend him highly!
Kashi Davis
Wedding: 10/15/11
4.8 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
4.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
If wedding cake is something you care about (and I did!) this is the baker for you!! The OC Cake Studio is not cheap, but boy is it worth it. We went to the tasting and tried 4 flavors. We were going to select 2, but they were all so good we paid extra to have them all! It is literally the best cake I have ever eaten. Darren and Megan were great to work with, the cake turned out beautifully. I was nervous about the fondant, but sure enough, it was a very thin layer. Although some people ate it, I found it very easy to peel right off. There was plenty of butter cream under it that it was no prob! EVERYONE commented on how good it was - incl during the wedding, at 3 am when we had cake part 2, the next afternoon when we ate more with friends and dinner that night when we polished it off (save the three pieces in our fridge). So, so, so good!! I will def be going back for other special occasions to try more flavors, I can't even imagine what we are missing in the others!
CCarlin
Wedding: 7/31/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
Darren is incredible! He is the absolute best!!!! Not only is his work impeccable but his cakes are phenomenal! People are still talking about my wedding cake!!!! He knew exaclty what I wanted! I described it in one sentence, he made a sketch, and that was it! The quickest and most fun appointment of my entire wedding! I will be using him whenever I can!!!!
Jaclyn Keys
Wedding: 5/20/11
5.0 out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
5.0/5.0
Responsiveness:
5.0/5.0
Professionalism:
5.0/5.0
Value for Cost:
5.0/5.0
Flexibility:
5.0/5.0
The Cake Studio of Ocean City was a pleasure to work with. From our very first meeting with them, my husband and I knew we had found the perfect wedding cake vendor for our destination/beach wedding. Being from PA, we were nervous about having to make long-distance plans a year in advance of our big day, but The Cake Studio made this part of our plans a breeze (which is much more than I can say for all of our other OC-based vendors, who, quite frankly, were a nightmare to work with). The Cake Studio even accommodated us when, due to my own scheduling error, we made the drive for our testing a day earlier than we had actually scheduled. I thought for sure we would have to drive the 3 hours home and back the next day, but The Cake Studio told us to come back in 1/2 an hour and that they would have our samples ready - and they not only did, but acted happy to do it! On our wedding day, we were amazed by how beautiful our cake turned out. It was exactly what we had wanted, right down to the colors matching the color sample we gave them to a "T". Nearly all of our guests took the time out of their evening to personally tell us how delicious and beautiful the cake was. I highly recommend this vendor!
 
 
Find The Cake Studio of Ocean City reviews from newlyweds in South Jersey that used The Cake Studio of Ocean City for wedding Cakes services.